Jun 22, 2024  
2024-2025 Catalog 
2024-2025 Catalog

Tuition and Fees

Fee summary tables for Fall 2023 are presented on this page. Here is the most current tuition and fees.

Payment of Fees

Lamar State College Orange reserves the right to change fees in accordance with acts of the Texas Legislature and the College’s Board of Regents. By registering for classes at the College, each student agrees to abide by all policies of the College. Here is the most current table of tuition and fees.

A student is not registered until either (1) all fees are paid in full or (2) the required down payment has been paid on the installment plan. Payments made by check, money order, cashier’s check or traveler’s check should be made payable to Lamar State College Orange and will be accepted subject to clearing the financial institution on which they are drawn. Debit/credit cards and currency are also accepted. The College will not accept counter checks, postdated checks, credit card checks or altered checks. Excess payments will be refunded by direct deposit.

Installment Program

A student is not automatically placed on installments. A student will only be placed on the installment plan if they have paid 50 percent of the total tuition and fees, plus the $20 non-refundable installment fee. To receive the installment plan, contact the cashier at (409)882-3371 or view the student account online and apply for an installment plan by logging into Student Services via www.lsco.edu. Two subsequent payments of 25 percent each are required at a later date. A late fee of $15 will be charged after 5 PM on the installment due date for each delinquent installment payment.

Short-Term Deferment Tuition Plan

Lamar State College Orange provides short-term deferment tuition plans  to help students cover the 50 percent down payment of the installment plan.  Short-term deferment tuition plans are good for 60 days and are available to students 10 days prior to the first-class day. Short-term deferment tuition plans must be repaid within the semester in which the loan is made.  Students withdrawing from the college remain responsible for the repayment of the short-term deferment tuition plan.  Students interested in acquiring short-term deferment tuition plan should visit the Cashier’s Office for information and application forms. Alternatively, students can contact the cashier by telephone at (409) 882-3371 or by email at bursars@lsco.edu to complete the application online. The form will be sent electronically to the student for signature. A $20 service fee is required. Late fees for unpaid short-term deferment tuition plan will be charged.

Waving Fees

Waiving Off-Campus Fees - Students enrolled exclusively in classes that are held off-campus may request a waiver of the Student Center fee. Forms are available in the Office of Admission and Records.

Waiving Tuition for Senior Citizens - Senior citizens, 65 years of age or older, may take courses (up to six credit hours per semester) on a space-available basis without the payment of tuition but will be responsible for all applicable fees. Senior Citizen Tuition Exemption forms are available from the Office of Admission and Records. If credit is not desired, a petition for ‘no grade’ must be completed and submitted to the Office of Admission and Records by the census date of the term enrolling. 

Tuition Rebates

The state of Texas has authorized a tuition rebate program under Section 54.0065 of the Texas Education Code not to exceed a total of $1,000. The rebate is paid to eligible students after receiving baccalaureate degrees from Texas public colleges within 4 years. The purpose of the program is to provide an “incentive for students to prepare for college studies while completing their high school work, avail themselves of academic counseling, make early decisions, and complete their baccalaureate studies with as few extraneous courses as possible.” See the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts for more information on tuition rebates upon initial enrollment.

Tuition Charges for Extra Credit Hours

Students initially enrolling in Texas institutions of higher education in the 1999 fall semester or subsequent terms are subject to Chapter 13, Subchapter G, Section 13.115 (THECB, Texas Register). A student who has accumulated 70 or more semester hours at a community college, technical college, and/or Lamar State College Orange is subject to notification about the limit of credit hours (120) received at the in-state tuition rate. Students who exceed the limit (120 credit hours) are subject to higher tuition rates, not to exceed the rates charged to non-resident undergraduate students.

Delinquent Accounts

Delinquent accounts to LSCO will be sent to a collection agency and reported to credit bureaus. All costs of collections are paid by the student, which is generally an additional 33.33% of the students’ obligations to LSCO. Delinquent accounts must be paid to the collection agency. Payment cannot be accepted by LSCO if the account has been forwarded to a collection agency. 

Resident Classification

Students are responsible for registering under their legal residence student classification. Questions regarding residency must be answered by the Registrar no later than the time of registration. Students failing to comply with the residence provisions of the state tuition bill (Art. 2645c, V.C.S. as amended 1957) are subject to penalties and/or appropriate disciplinary action as outlined in the law. 

Types of Fees

Testing Fees - LSCO offers a variety of tests for career development, placement, entrance exams, etc. Prices vary based on the exam.

Matriculation Fee - A matriculation fee of $15 will be incurred by students who withdraw before the first day of class. This $15 fee will be deducted from the refund.

Reinstatement Fee - A student seeking reinstatement within the same semester after having withdrawn or having been withdrawn shall pay a $50 reinstatement fee in addition to late payment fees. Students on installment plans must also pay all past due balances at the time of reinstatement.

Return check Fee - Checks written in payment and returned to the College due to insufficient funds (NSF) will result in a $25 check charge. Any returned check will result in the student permanently being “cash only” for the duration of transactions with the college. If the returned payment is for tuition and/or fees, there could also be a $10 late registration fee and/or a $15 installment late penalty. Obligations paid by an insufficient funds check are considered delinquent. A student who fails to make full payment of tuition and fees, including any incidental fees, by the due date may be prohibited from registering for classes until full payment is made.

Tuition and Fee Calculations

Credit hours exempt from the cap include hours earned by the student before receiving a baccalaureate degree that has been previously awarded to the student; hours earned through examination; hours from developmental courses, technical courses, and workforce education courses; hours earned at a private institution or an out-of-state institution; and any hours not eligible for state formula funding.

Tuition and Fee Tables

Fee summaries are presented in the Table of Fees . Here is the most current table of tuition and fees.